Economic Development

The committee implements action plans to assist in development and retention of new business and industries. It promotes events and activities to foster a stable and healthy economy.

Co-Chairs: Janice Ikeda & Donn Mende

Government Affairs

This group serves as liaison with government and elected officials to present our issues and interests. The committee, with board approval, submits testimony expressing JCCIH positions.

Co-Chairs: Stephen Ueda & Ashley Kierkiewicz

Political Action

During election years, the PAC allocates funds to support Chamber-endorsed candidates for County and State offices, in accordance with established guidelines approved by the Board.

Chair: Art Taniguchi

Social & Cultural

To encourage fellowship, this committee organizes social, cultural and networking events for members and others.

Social & Cultural Chair: Gina Tanouye


Membership Development

The strength of the Chamber is in its members. The committee develops strategic membership recruitment and retention strategies and works with other committees to assure new members are welcomed. It encourages members’ participation in all aspects of our organization.

Membership Chair: Carol VanCamp


This committee plans educational activities within the community. It supports the Department of Education, University of Hawai‘i at Hilo and Hawai‘i Community College.

Co-Chairs: Debbie Shigehara & Susie Dill

Communication & Marketing

This group keeps members and the community at large informed through traditional and new media.

Co-Chairs: Barbara Hastings & Nico Verissimo

A Taste of Hilo

Annual event showcasing food artistry by local tastemakers. The Hawai‘i Community College is the beneficiary through JCCIH Foundation Fund scholarships. Funds also help support faculty and staff development and program improvements.

2017 Chairs: Kai‘u Kimura, Randy Kurohara & Tracy Yamaguchi




The committee coordinates the annual Golf Classic Tournament. This fundraiser supports a variety of Chamber programs through the year.

Chair: Layne Funai